“C” is for Celebrations!

In my personal practice, I find it helps me connect to my spirituality when I celebrate holiday (Pagan Holidays along with others such as National Holidays and some Christian Holidays my family celebrate.) Some Pagans I know think it is a bad thing to celebrate Christian Holidays even if I am not Christian myself. The way I see it is if my family is willing to celebrate both, then why should I hold anything against theirs? All that does is feed into the separation of religions. Its very egocentric to think of ones own religion and its holidays superior to another.

I cannot expect someone outside my religion to accept my beliefs if I snub theirs. You get what you put out. I find that many people are genuinely curious and willing to learn a thing or two. They find it interesting to see the similarities and differences, and some know nothing but stereotypes, so why not make it a learning experience and clear up these misconceptions, and show them the true positive nature of our religion?

Today I spent the day celebrating Independence Day with my family (except my love because he had to work all day.) I had a fun filled day of a parade, carnival rides (though they weren’t as good as I expected them to be not to mention a tad expensive), went out to dinner, tried to go swimming at the beach but the DNR officers told us we couldn’t go in the water because of a thunderstorm watch and sights of lightning so we went to the pool near my home instead, then got some ice cream and spent the rest of the evening enjoying the fireworks.

It really lift the spirit to enjoy holidays with the people you love. Also, as a side note, I LOVE decorating for holidays. It really gets me in the festive mood and I don’t hold back! If you don’t decorate, why not try it a few times! Doesn’t have to be anything over the top, but even just a little thing here and there does wonders for the spirit!

Blessed Be

Amistis Reudan

About Amistis Reudan

Amistis Reudan is an Ordained Minister actively practicing Paganism since 2000. Mom of 2 boys, CNA at a local hospital, and Health/Fitness Coach.
This entry was posted in Pagan Blog Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

