“D” is for Dreams

What are dreams? There are many theories as to why they occur. Some say it is the result of a phenomenon known as rapid eye movement that occurs in a cycle of our sleeping patterns known as REM sleep. Psychologically this cycle is where our brain is believed to sort through our thought and other data gathered throughout the day in which the brain processes and determines which to store in long term memory and which to discard.

For others it is a period of astral travel. The soul is freed from the body to travel to other dimensions and experience things we are unable to on the physical plane. Some such things may be flying, walking through walls, or even behaving in ways we normally would not due to social restrictions. Some see dreams as a type of divination in which messages from the Divine are received.

Some dream interpretations may be looked up on a site such as: http://www.dreammoods.com/dreamdictionary/

Sometimes when I dream my dreams are easily understood. They are usually involving bits and pieces of my day that I can easily recall and think “I must have dreamed that because this happened yesterday…” Other times my dreams are so off the wall people often tell me “what did you eat before you went to bed.” Honestly, what I eat has nothing to do with my dreams. I have rarely a night without any dreams.

Sometimes I wish I was like my boyfriend who never remembers dreaming. Some of my dreams are so intense that when I wake up I am extremely exhausted like I have been up all day. They often say that you should keep a dream journal and record your dreams so you can recall them later or try to decipher the meaning, however my dreams are so intense and full of detail that I cannot write it all down without having a book by the end or getting severe writers cramp. Since I dream nightly, if not a few times nightly, it would not take me long to fill up book after book.

I’m not sure why we dream or the significance they have in life, but I know they are a piece of who I am. Whether or not there is any purpose behind my dreams or if they are just good for stories to tell others, I am happy to have them and vividness of them in my life. Its almost like being blessed to live two lives as once.

About Amistis Reudan

Amistis Reudan is an Ordained Minister actively practicing Paganism since 2000. Mom of 2 boys, CNA at a local hospital, and Health/Fitness Coach.
This entry was posted in Pagan Blog Project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

