“I” is for Impromptu Burial

I woke up with a sore neck that turned into a headache. I got up and decided to start my day since laying in bed would have done nothing but make my headache worse. I just happened to be in the living room when I heard a big “THUNK!” I literally jumped a good three inches off the ground!

I went onto my balcony to see what it was (I was thinking perhaps someone thought it’d be funny to throw something at my window!) Turns out it was a bird that flew into my window. I found it lying in my balcony chair, but it was still alive.

Its head was turned to the side and its right foot was curled up. Being a medical person I was thinking it was having a stroke or had a brain bleed from hitting the window so hard. It was breathing very fast and it was looking around as much it could without moving its head. I truly thought he was paralyzed.

Then he started flopping around like he was trying to fly, but could stay upright, so I held onto him where his wings were held down as so not to increase injury. I decided to get my old hamster cage from the back of my car so at least if he recovered from his accident I could keep an eye on him before letting him go back to the wild.

Unfortunately, as soon as I reached my car and opened the trunk, he has a little birdie seizure, then passed away. Being the Pagan I am, I have always been known to bury the dead animals that have come into my life, whether they be pets or ones I find on my nature walks or sick/injured animals people bring to me for help that pass away.

I gathered some of my key funeral items I use for animal burials: something to carry the body in and wrap the body in, my working candle, my ancestral/book of the dead, my Summerland book, God and Goddess statue, some herbs, and my bird book to identify the type of bird it was (Swainson’s Thrush).

The funeral was very peaceful. It was in the early morning with the crisp air and early morning sunlight. Birds were chirping, and a dragonfly even landed as if to pay his respects. When I completed my ceremony, a whole flock of bird flew overhead where I buried the bird, which made me think it was a sign that he was ok in the afterlife and a thank you for being given a proper burial.

I know some people would see these kinds of burials as silly and pointless, but to me they are special, and bring peace to both myself and the soul of the creature.

About Amistis Reudan

Amistis Reudan is an Ordained Minister actively practicing Paganism since 2000. Mom of 2 boys, CNA at a local hospital, and Health/Fitness Coach.
This entry was posted in Pagan Blog Project. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “I” is for Impromptu Burial

  1. Wendy S. says:

    I think what you did is really beautiful. Death is often so uncomfortable for most people that the would have either thrown out the body or just left the bird there. The fact that you were so thoughtful and caring shows a real maturity and sign that you’re a true pagan who accepts the circle of life. Good job!

Leave a Reply

