Day 18 – GRC

I feel the most peaceful when my home is clean and organized. Most of my friends say I’m just a bit OCD, but it really makes me feel good to be surrounded by my things where they belong and not all messy, especially when I know all the hard work I put into keeping it this way. I create outer peace by physically cleansing and organizing my environment, and I also spiritually cleanse it with my sage. I do my normal morning routines, incorporating some that I have been doing before the beginning of this challenge, as well as my speed clean. I usually do my speed clean on the days I work, then save my days off for the deep cleaning.

 

I spent some time recently since I had a day off and did 4 loads of laundry, I took the time to organize my drawers more, got into the little ones room and went through all her clothes that no longer fit, and made room for some new stuff. I’ve been reorganizing like crazy, and as I work on one task I begin to see others to add to my list.

When the weather is unseasonable warm (like in the 50’s this time of year) I like to open my windows for a bit. I like to go around my house a smudge it in a counter clockwise fashion to banish negativity. Now that Yule is coming to a close (being that I already did mine this past weekend–only have a few more events to attend) I am getting the itch to start taking my decorations back down and get the place looking more normal. That will be cleansing in itself to put all my EXTRA stuff away, and get more down to the basics again.

I try to take at least one relaxing bath a week as opposed to just my showers. I go all out with these, with bath salts, bubbles, candles, music. the works. Also, when I am home and cleaning or any other random organizing task I make end up doing, I really do not enjoy the TV being on. It just sounds like noise to me. I’d rather turn on my “soundscapes” (channel 434 on comcast), or put in one of my pagan CD’s or listen to Pagan Radio on my phone. I work much better with peaceful music rather than noisy TV. Even when I was in school (I am on a waiting list right now so no homework) I would do my homework while listening to “smart music” which refers the the classical music.

Though home is my peaceful haven from the cruel world out there, I cannot say the same for my job. I work at a local hospital, and it seems as soon as I hit the front doors I get instant tension. When i get report from the first shifter I sit there dreading what I will run into throughout my day that they are leaving out in their report. I get burned out when I work and feel it through every aspect of my being, physical, mental, emotional and spiritual.

I feel like I spend the first four hours cleaning up what first shift left me: catheters not empties, trash overflowing, no trash bags left in the trashcan so they just left it there, no gloves in the rooms, linen carts so full they won’t close, no stock in the kitchen, dirty patients, the list goes on! But this night finally got me to my breaking point. By 6:30p I ended up having to call in for the last four hours (which really made me feel like slime.) I had one of the strongest most sudden migraines I’ve had in quite a while. Nothing was touching it. I took a total of 4 excedrin, 6 “migraine ease” herbal pills, and 2 ibuprofen 600’s, and nothing worked. So I finally came home and got my hot pack wrapped around me head, laid in the dark, and eventually I was able to drift off to sleep. I woke up pain free and wired on the caffeine from the excedrin.

I really hate that I get headaches so often, especially when they get to the point of uncontrollable pain and nausea and dry heaving. My goal for this coming year is to switch doctors and get to the root of the problem so I can find a more holistic solution to my chronic headaches/migraines. Home is where the peace is….

About Amistis Reudan

Amistis Reudan is an Ordained Minister actively practicing Paganism since 2000. Mom of 2 boys, CNA at a local hospital, and Health/Fitness Coach.
This entry was posted in Great Release Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

